Ancient Philosophy 1

Ancient Philosophy 1

Lectures: 30

Seminars: 0

Tutorials: 30

ECTS credit: 4

Lecturer(s): doc. dr. Ciglenečki Jan, prof. dr. Zore Franc

Overview of main periods, authors and philosophical schools in the period of Greek and Roman philosophy from Antiquity.
1. Beginnings of ancient philosophy. Early Greek thought (the so-called “Pre-Socratics”) and sophists.
2. Classical Greek philosophy: Socrates, Plato and Aristotle.
3. Hellenistic philosophical schools (Stoics, Sceptics and Epicureans) and the beginnings of Roman philosophy.
4. Late ancient philosophy: the beginnings of Christian philosophy and Neoplatonism (Plotinus).